Coronavirus (COVID-19): countries and territories exempt from advice against ‘all but essential’ international travel

The FCO updated its global advisory against ‘all but essential’ travel, exempting destinations that no longer pose an unacceptably high risk for British travellers.

These countries and territories have been assessed as no longer presenting an unacceptably high risk to British people travelling abroad. Foreign & Commonwealth Office (FCO) travel advice is based on risks to British nationals, including in-country public health assessments.

The global coronavirus pandemic is ongoing. No travel is risk-free, and disruption is still possible. If you plan to travel:

  • read the coronavirus travel guidance to make sure you are prepared for your travel
  • read the Travel Advice for your destination, for information on current entry requirements and any local coronavirus measures that you will need to follow
  • sign up for email alerts for Travel Advice to ensure you are informed of any changes while you are travelling

All our advice will remain under constant review to take into account the latest situation in each country.

The FCO continues to advise against non-essential international travel, except to the countries and territories listed on this page.

This list of exempted countries is based on FCO advice from assessing the risk of travelling to specific countries. For the countries you may be able to return from without self-isolation, view the list of travel corridors for England and guidance for Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland.

Exempt countries and territories list

Countries and territories exempt from advice against ‘all but essential’ international travel:






Published 3 July 2020
Last updated 30 July 2020 + show all updates
  1. Luxembourg removed from exemptions list based on the current assessment of COVID-19 risks. Luxembourg is no longer exempt from the FCO advice against all non-essential international travel. The FCO advises against all but essential travel to Luxembourg

  2. Spain - update to advise against all non-essential to Spain, now including the Balearic and Canary Islands

  3. Spain - update to advise against all non-essential travel to mainland Spain

  4. Update to travel exemptions list. Additional 19 countries and territories added: Laos, Cambodia, Fiji, Samoa, Sri Lanka, Cuba, Guadeloupe, St Barthelemy, St Martin, St Maarten, Aruba, New Caledonia, Curacao, Cook Islands, British Indian Ocean Territory, Falkland Islands, St Helena, Ascension Island and Tristan da Cuna

  5. Updated to reflect travel corridors coming into effect on 10 July. You may not have to self-isolate when you arrive in the UK from some countries and territories

  6. Serbia was removed from the exemptions list based on the latest assessment of risks there. The FCO advises against non-essential travel to Serbia

  7. Updated as the travel exemptions come into effect

  8. First published.