England’s traditional counties

This collection brings together all documents relating to England’s traditional counties.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

In addition to the county tiers of administrative local government which provide public services, there are also ceremonial counties and ‘traditional’ counties.

Ceremonial counties form the current structure of our counties in England.

Our ‘traditional’ counties are also known as historic counties and include the likes of Cumberland, Huntingdonshire, Westmorland and Middlesex. Traditional counties are still used and understood by many people today and give their names to community organisations.

More information on the traditional counties can be found from the Association of British Counties’ website.


Updates to this page

Published 1 October 2013
Last updated 27 November 2014 + show all updates
  1. Added 'Eric Pickles urges people of England to fly flags to celebrate their pride and identity'.

  2. Added 'Lincolnshire flag flies in the heart of government'.

  3. Added 'Westmorland flag flies in the heart of government'.

  4. Added 'Sussex flag of historic county flies at heart of government'.

  5. Added 'By George! England's traditional counties can return to England’s roads'.

  6. Added 'New flag flying high as the County Durham celebrates'.

  7. Added 'Cornwall flag flying high as the county celebrates.'

  8. Added 'Lancashire flag flying at Department for Communities and Local Government'.

  9. First published.