School curriculum

The national curriculum, early years, key stages 1 to 5, GCSEs and AS and A levels, tests, exams and assessments.


  1. The national curriculum

    The English national curriculum means children in different schools (at primary and secondary level) study the same subjects to similar standards - it's split into key stages with tests

  2. Get a replacement exam certificate

    Request a replacement exam certificate or a certified statement of results if you've lost your original - check the list of old exam boards if your board no longer exists

  3. Early years foundation stage

    The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5

  4. What qualification levels mean

    Find the difficulty level of a qualification and compare qualifications across different countries.

  5. Find a regulated qualification

    Check if a qualification is regulated and what level it is on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF)

See more services in this topic

Guidance and regulation

  1. Reporting to parents at the end of key stages 1 and 2
  2. Early years foundation stage statutory framework (EYFS)
  3. Help primary school children continue their education during coronavirus (COVID-19)
  4. Help secondary school children continue their education during coronavirus (COVID-19)
  5. Help children aged 2 to 4 to learn at home during coronavirus (COVID-19)
See more guidance and regulation in this topic

News and communications

Research and statistics

  1. Early years foundation stage profile results: 2018 to 2019
  2. 16 to 18 multi-academy trust performance: 2019 revised
  3. A level and other 16 to 18 results: 2018 to 2019 (revised)
  4. 2019 national curriculum test handbook
  5. Key stage 4 performance 2019 (revised)
See more research and statistics in this topic

Policy papers and consultations

  1. Exceptional arrangements for exam grading and assessment in 2020
  2. Legal establishment and location of awarding organisations
  3. Consultation on changes to the Conditions of Recognition
  4. Regulating Performance Table Qualifications
  5. Awarding organisation controls for centre assessments - regulations
See more policy papers and consultations in this topic

Transparency and freedom of information releases

  1. Awarding organisations: scope of recognition
  2. List of schools by EBacc language entry
  3. Early adopters of relationships education, relationships and sex education (RSE) and health education
  4. National assessments regulation annual report 2019
  5. GCSE modern foreign languages subject content review panel
See more transparency and freedom of information releases in this topic