Secondary curriculum, key stage 3 and key stage 4 (GCSEs)

Programmes of study, English Baccalaureate (EBacc), qualifications, core and foundation subjects, changes to GCSEs.


  1. Find a regulated qualification

    Check if a qualification is regulated and what level it is on the Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF)

  2. Check if an awarding body is recognised

    How to check if the organisation giving you an award is registered and accredited by the exams regulator

Guidance and regulation

  1. What qualification levels mean

    Find the difficulty level of a qualification and compare qualifications across different countries.

  2. National curriculum in England: mathematics programmes of study
  3. National curriculum in England: framework for key stages 1 to 4
  1. National curriculum in England: English programmes of study

    • Statutory guidance
    • Department for Education
  2. National curriculum in England: history programmes of study

    • Statutory guidance
    • Department for Education
See all guidance and regulation

News and communications

Policy and engagement

  1. Rules and regulations on teacher involvement in exam development
  2. Assessment arrangements for GCSE computer science
  3. Changes to teaching of sex and relationship education, and PSHE
  1. Implementing the English Baccalaureate

    • Department for Education
    • Consultation outcome
    • Date closed 29 January 2016
  2. Setting the grade standards of new GCSEs in England

    • Ofqual
    • Consultation outcome
    • Date closed 30 June 2014
See all policy and engagement


  1. Revised GCSE and equivalent results in England: 2016 to 2017

    • Department for Education
    • National statistics
  2. Reviews of marking: November 2017 exam series

    • Ofqual
    • Research
  3. Entries for GCSE, AS and A level: summer 2018 exam series

    • Ofqual
    • Official statistics
  4. Evaluation of qualifications reform

    • Ofqual
    • Research
  5. OCR: notice of costs recovery: April 2018

    • Ofqual
    • Decision
See all transparency