Our governance

The main decision-making, executive and managerial bodies in the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (BEIS).

Departmental Board

The Departmental Board provides direction on strategy, performance and risk management.


Executive Committee

The Executive Committee implements strategy and ensures the effective management of the department.


  • Sam Beckett, Acting Permanent Secretary (Chair)
  • Sarah Harrison MBE, Director General, Corporate Services
  • Sarah Munby, Director General, Business Sectors
  • Jo Shanmugalingam, Director General, Industrial Strategy, Science and Innovation
  • Joanna Whittington, Director General, Energy and Security
  • Julian Critchlow, Director General, Energy Transformation and Clean Growth
  • Ashley Ibbett, Acting Director General, International, Growth and Analysis
  • Jaee Samant, Director General, Market Frameworks
  • John Loughhead CB OBE, Chief Scientific Adviser
  • Chris Thompson, Director, Policy, Delivery and Private Office
  • Tom Taylor, Director, Finance and Portfolio and BEIS Chief Financial Officer
  • Mike Keoghan, Chief Economic Adviser
  • Doug Watkins, Director, Organisational Development
  • Craig Woodhouse, Director, Communications

Audit, Risk and Assurance Committee

The Audit Risk and Assurance Committee ensures the quality of audit and risk control functions.


  • Nigel Boardman, Non-Executive Board Member (Chair)
  • Stuart Quickenden, Non-Executive Member
  • Bryan Ingleby, Non-Executive Member
  • Myriam Madden, Non-Executive Member
  • Elaine Clements - Non-Executive Member
  • Adrian Kamellard Non-Executive Member