Ministerial role

First Lord of the Treasury


The First Lord of the Treasury is one of the Lords Commissioners of the Treasury. This role is usually held by the Prime Minister.

Since the 17th century, the Lords Commissioners of the Treasury have collectively carried out duties that were previously held by the Lord High Treasurer (head of His Majesty’s Treasury).

The Lords Commissioners of the Treasury also include:

10 Downing Street is the official residence of the First Lord of the Treasury, and not of the Prime Minister.

Current role holder

The Rt Hon Sir Keir Starmer KCB KC MP

Sir Keir Starmer became Prime Minister on 5 July 2024.  


Keir attended Reigate Grammar School, before studying Law at the University of Leeds. He went on to do postgraduate studies at the University of Oxford, receiving a Bachelor of Civil Law (BCL) degree.

Political Career

Keir was elected a Member of Parliament for Holborn and St Pancras in May 2015. He was elected leader of the Labour Party in April 2020.

Career before politics

Keir qualified as a barrister in 1987 working in private practice before working as a legal advisor to the Northern Ireland Policing Board.

He was appointed Queen’s Counsel (QC) in 2002.

In 2008, Keir was appointed Director of Public Prosecutions, leading the Crown Prosecution Service until 2013.

He received a knighthood in 2014 for services to criminal justice.

Personal Life

Keir is married and has two children.

More about this person

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Rishi Sunak MP

    2022 to 2024

  2. The Rt Hon Elizabeth Truss

    2022 to 2022

  3. The Rt Hon Boris Johnson

    2019 to 2022

  4. The Rt Hon Theresa May

    2016 to 2019

  5. The Rt Hon Lord Cameron

    2010 to 2016