Ministerial role

Chancellor of the Exchequer


The Chancellor of the Exchequer is the government’s chief financial minister and as such is responsible for raising revenue through taxation or borrowing and for controlling public spending. He has overall responsibility for the work of the Treasury.

The Chancellor’s responsibilities cover:

  • fiscal policy (including the presenting of the annual Budget)
  • monetary policy, setting inflation targets
  • ministerial arrangements (in his role as Second Lord of the Treasury)

Current role holder: The Rt Hon Philip Hammond MP

The Rt Hon Philip Hammond MP was appointed Chancellor of the Exchequer on 13 July 2016. He was elected Conservative MP for Runnymede and Weybridge in 1997.


Philip was born in Epping, Essex in 1955 and attended school in Brentwood before studying politics, philosophy and economics at University College, Oxford.

Political career

He was previously Secretary of State for Transport from May 2010, when he was appointed as a Privy Counsellor. Prior to this, he held a number of shadow portfolios. He was elected to Parliament in 1997 and was Secretary of State for Defence from 2011 until July 2014. Philip served as Foreign Secretary from July 2014 until July 2016.

Career outside politics

Philip had a business career in small and medium-sized companies in manufacturing, consultancy, property and construction, and oil and gas, both in the UK and abroad.

Personal life

He is married with 3 children and lives in Send, Surrey.

Previous holders of this role

Find out more about previous holders of this role in our past Chancellors of the Exchequer section.


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Bradford and Bingley assets to be sold

    • News story
  2. Chancellor unveils infrastructure body to help build better Britain for everyone

    • News story
  3. Sale of public’s stake in Lloyds to restart shortly

    • News story
  4. Further certainty on EU funding for hundreds of British projects

    • News story
  5. £220 million for cutting-edge new technology

    • News story
  6. Chancellor sees bright future for Britain’s world-leading innovative industries

    • Press release
  7. Chancellor: British businesses can capitalise on new opportunities

    • News story
  8. Chancellor backs British exporters as he steps up business engagement ahead of Autumn Statement

    • News story
  9. Manor of Northstead: David Cameron

    • News story
  10. Autumn Statement 2016 date confirmed

    • News story