Our governance

HM Revenue & Customs (HMRC) is a non-ministerial department established by the Commissioners for Revenue and Customs Act (CRCA) 2005.

Lin Homer is the Chief Executive and Permanent Secretary, responsible for delivering the departmental strategy and for the organisation’s performance. Together with the Executive Committee, the Chief Executive is responsible for running HMRC.

Ian Barlow is the Lead Non-Executive. Together with the Board the Lead Non-Executive provides challenge and advice to the Chief Executive and the executive team on the design of HMRC’s strategy and on its implementation, including reviewing and challenging performance against the department’s business plan.

The top team is further strengthened by the appointment of a Tax Assurance Commissioner, Edward Troup, who is second Permanent Secretary and the senior tax professional in HMRC.

HMRC is supported by 9 non executives:

  • Ian Barlow
  • Volker Beckers
  • Norman Pickavance
  • Edwina Dunn
  • Philippa Hird
  • John Whiting
  • Paul Smith
  • Janet Williams
  • Leslie Ferrar

HMRC’s organisation chart

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee, attended by the senior management team, is supported by the Change Delivery Committee, Investment Committee and the People Matters Committee.

For previous minutes, please go to the National Archives.

The Board

The HMRC board attended by non-executives and some executive members, is supported by Audit & Risk, Scrutiny, and People, Nominations and Governance sub-committees.

For previous minutes please go to the National Archives.

Executive Committee (Performance)

The Executive Committee also meets as Executive Committee (Performance) (previously known as Performance Committee) to discharge its responsibility for oversight of the department’s performance, both in terms of immediate and future objectives.

Change Delivery Committee

The Change Delivery Committee takes collective responsibility for ensuring that the HMRC portfolio of investment programmes delivers the Changes and Benefits identified at their outset/authorisation.

For previous minutes please go to the National Archives.

Investment Committee

Investment Committee makes investment decisions on behalf of the Executive Committee, based on information and advice provided by the design assurance function, for all departmental change initiatives.

For previous minutes please go to the National Archives.

People Matters Committee

People Matters Committee has a role which can be split into two main parts

  1. strategic development
    • to take a visionary role, looking two to five years into the future to the Department we aspire to be, supporting the Executive Committee by providing choices for key decisions with regard to on-going development of the People Strategy
    • overseeing the programme of work that will deliver the new People Strategy
  2. operational excellence
    • acting on behalf of the Executive Committee, playing a HMRC wide role and taking decisions on delegated issues with regard to people policies
    • supporting the Chief People Officer in designing and implementing the HMRC annual cycle of people processes such as performance management

For previous minutes please go to the National Archives.

Audit and Risk Committee

Audit and Risk Committee is responsible for advising the board and principal accounting officer on financial statements, the risk management and control processes across HMRC.

For previous minutes please go to the National Archives.

Scrutiny committee

Scrutiny Committee is a special sub-group of the HMRC Board which addresses single issues in depth as circumstances require.

People, nominations and governance committee

People, Nominations and Governance Committee provides advice and scrutiny for the Board on:

  • the effectiveness of governance and nominations arrangements within HMRC
  • the people function’s support for the department’s strategic direction
  • HMRC’s ability to meet its legislative responsibilities in relation to its people including health and safety, the Equality Act and equal opportunities

HMRC consultative forums

HMRC facilitates a number of policy advisory groups, also known as consultative forums, for businesses, agents and representative bodies. These forums are a means for ongoing engagement between HMRC and its stakeholders and deal with a wide range of strategic and operational issues.

Details of HMRC consultative forums can be found alongside those of other policy advisory groups from across government.

Help us improve GOV.UK

Please don't include any personal or financial information, for example your National Insurance or credit card numbers.