Ministerial role

Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury


Responsibilities include:

  • strategic oversight of the UK tax system, including direct, indirect, business, property and personal taxation
  • corporate and small business taxation, with input from the Commercial Secretary
  • European and international tax issues
  • gambling duties
  • departmental minister for HM Revenue & Customs and the Valuation Office Agency
  • overall responsibility for the Finance Bill
  • personal savings and pensions policy and the Government Actuary’s Department

Current role holder: David Gauke MP

David Gauke was appointed Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury on 14 May 2010. He has been the Conservative MP for Hertfordshire South West since May 2005.


Born in 1971 and educated at Northgate High School in Ipswich, David read law at St Edmund Hall, Oxford University. After a year working as a parliamentary researcher, he attended Chester College of Law before becoming a trainee solicitor.

Political career

David was a member of the Treasury Select Committee from February 2006 until he was appointed as a Shadow Minister for the Treasury in June 2007. As a Shadow Treasury Minister, he focused on tax policy, including matters such as tax simplification and corporation tax reform.

Career outside politics

After qualifying as a solicitor in 1997, David worked for a leading City firm before entering Parliament in 2005.

Personal life

David lives in Chorleywood with his wife, Rachel, and their 3 sons.


under the responsibility of David Gauke MP as Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury

  1. Reducing tax evasion and avoidance

    • 8 October 2013
  2. Making it easier for HMRC customers to deal with their taxes

    • 31 July 2013
  3. Making the administration of the tax system more efficient

    • 6 March 2013


by Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury

Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Government seeks views on administration of business rates system

    • 10 April 2014
    • News story
  2. Government announces extension for pension decision period

    • 9 April 2014
    • News story
  3. Finance Bill 14 brings in new tax changes

    • 27 March 2014
    • News story
  4. Health workers given one week to pay their tax or face taskforce

    • 27 March 2014
    • News story
  5. HMRC makes online changes to Employment Related Securities

    • 26 March 2014
    • News story
  6. Employment Allowance: one month to go until businesses can claim £2k cashback on jobs

    • 6 March 2014
    • News story
  7. Second-hand car dealer tax scheme scrapped

    • 21 February 2014
    • News story
  8. Bristol & West tax avoidance plan loses again

    • 20 February 2014
    • News story
  9. NT Advisors loses £100m offshore tax avoidance bid

    • 31 January 2014
    • News story
  10. Investing in social enterprise: government publishes policy roadmap

    • 30 January 2014
    • News story

Help us improve GOV.UK

Please don't include any personal or financial information, for example your National Insurance or credit card numbers.