Cycle city ambition grants extension: ongoing funding guidelines

Explains how a £114 million extension to the cycle city ambition grant will be allocated and the criteria by which funding will be awarded.

This publication was withdrawn on

You can no longer apply for this grant extension as the deadline for applications has passed. See the latest cycling information.


Cycle city ambition grant programme: guidance on distribution of ongoing funding

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.


This document gives details of the formula which is being used to allocate a £114 million extension to the original cycle city ambition grant, as announced in November 2014. It also explains the threshold criteria to bidders, which will be used by the Department for Transport to decide how to award the funding.

The 8 cities which are able to apply for this funding are:

  • Bristol
  • Birmingham
  • Cambridge
  • Leeds
  • Manchester
  • Newcastle
  • Norwich
  • Oxford
Published 31 December 2014