Supporting detail:

The Deauville Partnership with Arab countries in transition

The UK is a member of the Deauville Partnership, which provides support for political and economic transitions in Egypt, Tunisia, Morocco, Libya, Jordan and Yemen.

Following the G7 suspension of collaboration with Russia, Germany has taken over the Chairmanship of the Deauville Partnership. Read further information on 2014-15 activity. The UK will work closely with the German chairs, using the Partnership to continue to support countries’ own efforts to make reforms.

For reference purposes, we have retained here information on what was achieved under the UK’s Chairmanship of the Deauville Partnership in 2013, and documentation from the ‘Forum for the Future’ meetings with civil society that took place in 2013.

The Partnership includes the G7 countries (Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, United Kingdom, and the United States), the EU and regional partners (Kuwait, Turkey, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the UAE) and international financial institutions and organisations (the Islamic Development Bank, the African Development Bank, the Arab Fund for Economic and Social Development, the Arab Monetary Fund, the European Investment Bank, the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, the International Finance Corporation, the International Monetary Fund, the African Development Bank, the OPEC Fund for International Development, and the World Bank).

There are several other organizations that have been supportive of the Deauville Partnership, including the Arab League, the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development and the United Nations organisations.

Foreign Ministers of the Partnership met in New York September to review progress over the year and discuss priorities for 2014 and beyond. Finance Ministers met in October 2013

The UK’s Presidency of the Deauville Partnership 2013

Work took place under eight priority areas chosen to align with our vision of open economies and inclusive growth:

Read our pamphlet Deauville Partnership with Arab Countries in transition also available in Arabic

Deauville Partnership events

G8 Deauville Partnership Forsa SME Mentoring Scheme

The UK launched a new mentoring initiative called Forsa in June 2013 to support SME Development in the Arab Countries in Transition.

Arab Women’s Conference in London – 25-26 June

Under the UK’s presidency of the G8 and chairmanship of the Deauville Partnership, the British Government held a two-day conference in partnership with Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean, Chairman of the Arab British Chamber of Commerce.

G8 Deauville Partnership Investment conference

On 16 September, the UK hosted the G8 Deauville Partnership Investment Conference in London focused on the six Arab countries in transition (Egypt, Jordan, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia and Yemen). The event provided a forum for those nations to highlight opportunities and explain the steps they are taking to improve the environment for investment in their countries. It covered issues such as financial risk mitigation instruments, access local labour and supply chains and specific opportunities and challenges in key sectors. Senior representatives from business and government from the transition countries, the G8, regional partners and the International Financial Institutions participated.

G8 Deauville Partnership Investment Conference programme

Meeting of Deauville Foreign Ministers

The UK hosted a meeting of Foreign Ministers of the Partnership in September 2013 to review progress over the year and discuss priorities for 2014 and beyond.

Deauville Partnership Progress report

The UK, as Chairman of the Deauville Partnership, released the Deauville Partnership Progress Report (PDF, 678KB, 27 pages) . It detailed progress has been made with the Deauville Partnership under the UK’s G8 Presidency.

Meeting of Deauville finance ministers

Finance ministers and international financial institutions of the Deauville Partnership for Arab Countries in Transition met in Washington on in October 2014 to re-affirm their commitment to support Egypt, Jordan, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia and Yemen in undertaking economic reforms that will lead to more stable, open and inclusive economies.

The Statement from 2013:

Deauville Partnership finance ministers meeting: Chair's statement (PDF, 113KB, 2 pages)