Military Aviation Authority approvals

The MAA Approvals Division manages and maintains approval schemes covering a range of activities from technical to operational, both on an organisational and individual basis.

It is Ministry of Defence (MOD) policy to only procure from contractors who have been assessed as competent (Regulatory Article 1005). The Approval Division assesses individuals to ensure that they are suitably qualified and experienced persons (SQEP) and organisations to ensure they meet the requirements of both legislation and the Military Aviation Authority (MAA) regulatory publications (MRP).

A time and scope limited approval is granted by the MAA to undertake contracted activities on behalf of the MOD. The schemes used to ensure approvals for organisations currently include:

  • Air traffic management (ATM) equipment approved organization scheme (AAOS)
  • Continuing airworthiness management organizations (CAMO)
  • Contractor flying approved organization scheme (CFAOS)
  • Contractor flying approved organization scheme (basic remotely piloted air systems) (CFAOS(BR))
  • Design approved organization scheme (DAOS)
  • Letter of endorsement (LoE): airworthiness competence
  • Maintenance approved organization scheme (MAOS)

Further details about the schemes is available in the documents below.


Published 18 November 2014
Last updated 15 January 2021 + show all updates
  1. The Contractor Flying Approved Organizations Scheme (Basic Remotely Piloted Air Systems) (CFAOS(BR)) page has been added.

  2. Letter of endorsement (LoE): airworthiness competence added.

  3. First published.