7. Bereavement benefits

European Economic Area (EEA) countries

If you move to an EEA country, Switzerland or Gibraltar, and you’re eligible, you can claim the following:

Countries outside the EEA

You may also be able to claim bereavement benefits if you move to one of the following:

  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Canada
  • Channel Islands
  • Israel
  • Jamaica
  • Kosovo
  • Macedonia
  • Mauritius
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • the Philippines
  • Serbia
  • Turkey
  • USA

The rate and eligibility criteria may vary between countries.

Help and advice on bereavement benefits