Where you can claim benefits

European Economic Area (EEA) countries

If you’re living in or planning to go to an EEA country or Switzerland you may be able to get some UK benefits.

Find out if you can get benefits in the EEA or Switzerland.

Other countries with UK benefits arrangements

The following countries have social security agreements with the UK:

  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Canada
  • Channel Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Israel
  • Jamaica
  • Kosovo
  • Mauritius
  • Montenegro
  • New Zealand
  • North Macedonia
  • the Philippines
  • Serbia
  • Turkey
  • USA

You may be able to claim certain benefits in these countries but it will depend on the particular country.