Policy paper

D5 charter

The 5 countries in the D5 group for leading digital governments signed a charter of principles for digital development.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government


D5 Charter

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology.

Request an accessible format.
If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email publiccorrespondence@cabinetoffice.gov.uk. Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.

D5 Charter


During the first D5 summit in London on 9 and 10 December 2014, the 5 countries signed the D5 Charter. The 5 countries were South Korea, Estonia, New Zealand, Israel and the UK. The Charter includes:

  • principles of digital development that each government of the country commits to working towards, acknowledging that they will not be able to meet all of the criteria on joining
  • the ways that the 5 countries will work together to support each other and help each other to become better digital governments
  • how the D5 will meet each year
Published 11 December 2014