Ministerial role

Financial Secretary to the Treasury


Responsibilities include:

  • EU Budget and wider EU issues
  • women and the economy
  • childcare policy
  • tax credits and child poverty, and assisting the Chief Secretary on welfare reform
  • charities, the voluntary sector and gift aid
  • environment and transport taxation, North Sea oil, gas and shipping
  • energy policy and climate change
  • excise duties, including excise fraud and law enforcement
  • deputising for the Chancellor at Ecofin
  • foreign exchange reserves and debt management policy, National Savings and Investments and the Debt Management Office
  • The Royal Mint

Current role holder: The Rt Hon Nicky Morgan MP

The Rt Hon Nicky Morgan is the Member of Parliament for Loughborough and served as an Assistant Whip in the Coalition Government, until her appointment as Economic Secretary to the Treasury on 7 October 2013. She was appointed as Financial Secretary to the Treasury and Minister for Women on 9 April 2014.


Nicky attended Surbiton High School, before going on to read law at St Hugh’s College, Oxford.

Political career

Nicky was elected for the Loughborough seat for the Conservatives in the 2010 General Election. Nicky has served as Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Rt Hon David Willetts MP, Cabinet Minister at the Department of Business, Innovation and Skills, and before that was a member of the BIS Select Committee.

Career outside politics

Nicky qualified as a solicitor in 1996, specialising in corporate law, and advised a range of private and public companies from 1996-2010.

Personal life

Nicky lives in Loughborough with husband Jonathan and they have one son.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Sajid Javid MP

    • 2013 to 2014
  2. The Rt Hon Greg Clark MP

    • 2012 to 2013
  3. Mark Hoban MP

    • 2010 to 2012


under the responsibility of The Rt Hon Nicky Morgan MP as Financial Secretary to the Treasury

  1. Making consumer credit markets fairer

    • 7 March 2013


by Financial Secretary to the Treasury

Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Equitable Life Payment Scheme payouts pass £900 million

    • 9 April 2014
    • News story
  2. Financial Secretary on home ownership

    • 4 April 2014
    • Speech
  3. Financial Secretary to the Treasury: CityWeek speech

    • 31 March 2014
    • Speech
  4. Financial Services Trade and Investment Board delivers boost to trade and inward investment in the UK economy

    • 31 March 2014
    • News story
  5. Cheque payments to become quicker and easier

    • 6 March 2014
    • News story
  6. Fullerton Fund Management set to establish presence in the UK

    • 25 February 2014
    • News story
  7. Financial Secretary on Islamic finance and Help to Buy

    • 21 February 2014
    • Speech
  8. Help to Buy extended to include ‘Islamic Mortgages’

    • 11 February 2014
    • News story
  9. First day of business for new LIBOR administrator

    • 3 February 2014
    • News story
  10. Equitable Life Payment Scheme passes £800 million in payouts

    • 22 January 2014
    • News story

Help us improve GOV.UK

Please don't include any personal or financial information, for example your National Insurance or credit card numbers.