Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Transport

Jesse Norman MP


Jesse Norman MP was appointed Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for the Department for Transport on 14 June 2017. He was elected as the MP for Hereford and South Herefordshire in May 2010.


Jesse studied at Oxford University (BA) and University College London (MPhil, PhD).

Political career

Jesse was Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy from 18 July 2016 until 14 June 2017. During the 2010 to 2015 Parliament Jesse was a member of the Treasury Select Committee and Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Employee Ownership. In June 2015 he was elected Chair of the Department for Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee.

Jesse was awarded Spectator Parliamentarian of the Year and The House Backbencher of the Year in 2012.

Career outside politics

Before entering politics Jesse was a Director at Barclays, researched and taught philosophy at University College London, and ran a charitable project in Communist Eastern Europe.

His books and pamphlets include ‘The achievement of Michael Oakeshott’, ‘After Euclid’, ‘Compassionate conservatism’ and ‘The big society’. His book ‘Edmund Burke: politician, philosopher, prophet’ was listed for the Samuel Johnson Prize, the Political Book Awards and the George Orwell Prize. He has also written regularly for the national press.

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Transport

The minister is responsible for:

  • cycling and walking policy
  • electric and autonomous vehicles
  • Future of Mobility
  • Highways England and strategic roads
  • international vehicle standards
  • light rail
  • local roads policy and funding
  • Major Roads Network
  • motoring agencies
  • road freight
  • road safety
  • traffic
  • transport and the environment
  • transport technology (including digital)

Previous roles in government

  1. Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Minister for Business and Industry

    • 2016 to 2017


  1. Review of Highway Code set to empower cyclists and pedestrians
  2. Government to fund local authority plans to tackle air pollution
  3. Zero Emission Vehicle Summit
  4. Cyclists in Buckinghamshire set to benefit from new cycleway
  5. Young engineers demonstrate readiness for a zero emissions future
  6. Corridor announced to unlock full potential of England's economic heartland
  7. Oxford to Cambridge Expressway: road scheme update
  8. Funding boost for green last mile delivery bikes
  9. New digital service to minimise disruptive roadworks
  10. New plans to update road safety laws to protect cyclists and pedestrians