Rules for test vehicles

All test vehicles have to meet certain rules, depending on their category.

Category B1 - quadricycles and light 4-wheeled vehicles

You can only take a test on a category B1 vehicle if you’re registered as disabled.

The vehicle must:

  • weigh no more than 550kg unladen
  • be able to drive at 37mph

Category F - tractors

Category F includes tractors with 2 or more axles, built for off-road agriculture or forestry work.

Category G - road rollers

If you’re between 17 and 20, these must be small road rollers with metal or hard rollers. They can’t:

  • be steam powered
  • weigh more than 11,690kg
  • be made for carrying loads

Category H - tracked vehicles

Category H vehicles must have adequate all-round visibility to let the driver carry out manoeuvres and deal with junctions safely.

Any vehicle needing a second person to help with observation, such as a military vehicle, can’t be used for a category H test.

Category K - mowing machines or pedestrian-controlled vehicles

A mowing machine is a specialist ride-on grass-cutting vehicle with permanent cutting equipment. You must be 16 years old to use this type of vehicle.

A pedestrian-controlled vehicle is where the operator walks with but doesn’t ride on the vehicle. You don’t need a licence to operate one.