UK immunisation schedule: the green book, chapter 11

Information for public health professionals on immunisation.


UK immunisation schedule: the green book, chapter 11

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.


Chapter 11 update patches archive

This chapter has been fully updated to reflect all the recent changes to the routine childhood immunisation schedule. The revised recommendations for administering more than one live vaccine, eligibility for the HPV programme and changes to the PCV schedule for infants have now been incorporated into this chapter.

The overall aim of the UK’s routine immunisation schedule is to provide protection against the following vaccine-preventable infections:

  • diphtheria
  • haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib)
  • hepatitis B
  • human papillomavirus (certain serotypes)
  • influenza
  • measles
  • meningococcal disease (certain serogroups)
  • mumps
  • pertussis (whooping cough)
  • pneumococcal disease (certain serotypes)
  • polio
  • rotavirus
  • rubella
  • shingles
  • tetanus
Published 20 March 2013
Last updated 2 January 2020 + show all updates
  1. Updated to include changes to the PCV schedule for infants born on or after 1 January 2020.

  2. Updated with changes to the childhood immunisation schedule, including eligibility for the Human Papilloma Virus (HPV) vaccine.

  3. Updated to include all recent changes to the immunisation schedule.

  4. This chapter has been updated to reflect changes to the routine immunisation schedule, including removal of the infant dose of MenC.

  5. Uploaded an updated version of the chapter to reflect recent changes to the immunisation schedule

  6. The latest version of chapter (and update patch) removed. This content will be republished at a later date.

  7. Latest version of chapter removed. To be republished at a later date.

  8. Update patch added

  9. Updated the immunisation schedule to reflect the removal of the MenC vaccination at four months of age and the introduction of a booster vaccination around 14 years of age.

  10. First published.