Ministerial role

Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice

Organisations: Ministry of Justice
Current role holder: The Rt Hon Brandon Lewis CBE MP


  • Oversight of all portfolios and Ministry of Justice strategy
  • Oversight of departmental contribution to growth agenda
  • Oversight of international business
  • MoJ support for the Union
  • Resourcing of the department
  • Functions of the Lord Chancellor
  • Judicial policy including pay, pensions and diversity (these and other operational decisions affecting the judiciary are reserved to the Lord Chancellor)

Current role holder

The Rt Hon Brandon Lewis CBE MP

The Rt Hon Brandon Lewis CBE was appointed Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice on 6 September 2022.

He was previously Secretary of State for Northern Ireland from 13 February 2020 to 7 July 2022.

He was previously Minister of State for Security and Deputy for EU Exit and No Deal Preparation from 24 July 2019 to 13 February 2020. He was Minister without Portfolio from January 2018 to July 2019 and Minister of State for Immigration from June 2017 to January 2018. Brandon was Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department for Communities and Local Government from September 2012 until July 2014. He served as Minister of State for Housing and Planning at the Department for Communities and Local Government from July 2014 until July 2016.

He was elected Conservative MP for Great Yarmouth in 2010.

Brandon Lewis was made a CBE for political and public service in September 2019.


Brandon has a BSc Economics and LLB Hons (Law) from the University of Buckingham. He also holds an LLM in commercial law from King’s College London.

Career outside politics

Brandon is a qualified barrister and a company director. Before joining the government, Brandon was an active member of a number of all-party parliamentary groups, including those for enterprise zones and local growth as well as local government. He was co-chair of a group on coastal erosion and continues to work with colleagues who represent other coastal towns to highlight common issues in their constituencies.

Brandon served on Brentwood Borough Council for more than 10 years, with 5 as leader.

Personal life

Brandon is married with 2 children. He enjoys a variety of sports as well as reading and going to the theatre and cinema. He has also completed the London Marathon twice.

More about this person

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Dominic Raab MP

    2021 to 2022

  2. The Rt Hon Robert Buckland KC MP

    2019 to 2021

  3. The Rt Hon David Gauke

    2018 to 2019

  4. The Rt Hon David Lidington CBE

    2017 to 2018

  5. The Rt Hon Elizabeth Truss MP

    2016 to 2017

  6. The Rt Hon Michael Gove MP

    2015 to 2016

  7. The Rt Hon Chris Grayling MP

    2012 to 2015

  8. The Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke KC

    2010 to 2012