Minister of State for Housing

Dominic Raab MP


Dominic Raab was appointed Minister of State for Housing at the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government on 9 January 2018.

He was Minister of State at the Ministry of Justice from 12 June 2017 to 9 January 2018. He was elected Conservative MP for Esher and Walton in May 2010.


Dominic went to Dr Challoner’s Grammar School, and studied law at Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford and for a Masters at Cambridge, winning the Clive Parry Prize for International Law.

Political career

Dominic served as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for Human Rights) at the Ministry of Justice from 2015 to 2016.

Career before politics

Dominic started his career as a business lawyer at City law firm Linklaters, working on project finance, international litigation and competition law. He also spent time on secondments at Liberty (the human rights NGO) and in Brussels advising on EU and WTO law.

Dominic later worked at the Foreign & Commonwealth Office between 2000 and 2006 on a range of issues from investor protection to war crimes policy.

Personal life

Dominic is married with two children.

Minister of State for Housing

The minister is responsible for:

  • Supporting the Housing Secretary on housing supply policy and delivery
  • Housing financing streams
  • Home ownership policy
  • Planning policy and casework oversight
  • Homes England sponsorship and performance
  • Building safety and regulations (including government response to the Hackitt review)
  • Land assembly and release, and Public Sector Land and Digital Land
  • Help to Buy
  • Quality and design
  • Grenfell recovery programme
  • Social Housing Green Paper

Previous roles in government

  1. Minister of State

    • 2017 to 2018
  2. Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Minister for Human Rights

    • 2015 to 2016


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. New money to build homes stalled by planning

    • Press release
  2. £45 million funding boost to support councils unlock land for thousands of homes

    • Press release
  3. Over 350,000 people benefit from support to buy their own home

    • News story
  4. Improving UK Competitiveness, Strengthening the Rule of Law

    • Speech
  5. Drug driving crackdown means more dangerous motorists off roads

    • News story
  6. New plans to tackle corporate fraud

    • Press release
  7. Tribunals

    • Statement to Parliament
  8. Offender management

    • Statement to Parliament