Ministerial role

Government Whip, Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Current role holder: Guto Bebb MP

Guto Bebb was appointed Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Wales Office and a Government Whip (Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury) on 19 March 2016. He was elected MP for Aberconwy in May 2010.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Alun Cairns MP

    • 2014 to 2016
  2. Sam Gyimah MP

    • 2013 to 2014
  3. The Rt Hon Sir Desmond Swayne TD

    • 2012 to 2013


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Justice minister opens Timpson’s training academy for female prisoners

    • Press release
  2. Childcare Minister speaks about more pre-schools in schools

    • Speech