Ministerial role

Deputy Chief Whip, Treasurer of HM Household


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Current role holder: Julian Smith MP

Julian Smith was appointed Treasurer of HM Household (Deputy Chief Whip) on 13 June 2017.

Previously he was Vice Chamberlain of HM Household (Government Whip) from 17 July 2016 to 13 June 2017. He was elected Conservative MP for Skipton and Ripon in 2010.


Julian was educated at Millfield School. He read English and history at the University of Birmingham.


In Parliament, Julian had a brief stint in the Scottish Affairs Committee in 2010. Julian served as an a Assistant Government Whip from May 2015 until July 2016.

Career before politics

Julian was an entrepreneur before entering Parliament, setting up and leading Arq International.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Anne Milton MP

    • 2015 to 2017
  2. The Rt Hon Greg Hands MP

    • 2013 to 2015
  3. The Rt Hon John Randall

    • 2010 to 2013


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Privy Council appointments: February 2014

    • Press release