Ministerial role

Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster


The Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster is the Chairman of the Conservative Party. He administers the estates and rents of the Duchy of Lancaster, and is a member of the Cabinet.

Current role holder: The Rt Hon Sir Patrick McLoughlin MP

Sir Patrick McLoughlin was appointed Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster on 14 July 2016. He was elected the Conservative MP for Derbyshire Dales in 2010.


Patrick studied at Staffordshire College of Agriculture.

Political career

Before becoming an MP in 1986, Patrick sat on Staffordshire County Council from 1981 to 1987 and Cannock Chase District Council between 1980 and 1987.

He has held a number of positions in government, including Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department of Trade and Industry and Government Whip. In opposition, he served as Chief Whip from 2005 to 2010. He was appointed to the Privy Council in 2005.

Patrick served as Chief Whip in the coalition government from May 2010 until September 2012. He served as Secretary of State for Transport from September 2012 until July 2016.

Career outside politics

He worked for 5 years in agriculture, before becoming a coal miner at Littleton Colliery in Cannock.

Personal life

Patrick is married with 2 children.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Oliver Letwin

    • 2014 to 2016


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. "We must redouble our efforts to meet the challenge of new psychoactive substances, to bring the most harmful substances under international control."

    • Speech
  2. Building flood resilience: minister visits innovative projects in Sheffield

    • News story
  3. Sajid Javid meeting workers and managers at Port Talbot today

    • Press release
  4. National Flood Resilience Review: Government action to tackle floods

    • Press release
  5. A country more flood resilient

    • Press release
  6. Cabinet Office fly iconic rainbow flag to celebrate Pride

    • News story
  7. Cabinet Committees and Implementation Taskforces membership list

    • Statement to Parliament