7. Single Vehicle Approval

Who can use the scheme?

The Individual Vehicle Approval (IVA) scheme is replacing the Single Vehicle Approval (SVA) scheme. From now on, you can use the IVA scheme for any type of vehicle needing type approval except for special purpose light goods vehicles.

Until 29 October 2014, you can still use the SVA scheme for special purpose light goods vehicles that:

  • are not more than 3,500kg gross vehicle weight
  • need first licensing and registration in the UK
  • are less than 10 years old

Application form

Contact DVSA for an application form and to choose a test station.

Telephone: 0300 123 9000
Find out about call charges.

Cost of the scheme

You have to pay a fee for DVSA to inspect your vehicle.

What happens next?

Vehicles that pass an SVA inspection are issued with a ‘Minister’s Approval Certificate’ (MAC).

More information

Read the DVSA guide on the SVA scheme.

Help us improve GOV.UK

Please don't include any personal or financial information, for example your National Insurance or credit card numbers.