11. Inspection fees

You have to pay a fee for DVSA to inspect your vehicle.

The cost depends on:

  • whether you’re using the standard or voluntary version of the scheme
  • the type of inspection (basic or normal)
  • the category of vehicle
  • the class of vehicle

To find out which category and class your vehicle is in, see annexes 1 and 2 of the DVSA guide to the IVA scheme.

Where to find inspection fees

The DVSA list of inspection fees includes the fees for:

  • Individual Vehicle Approval (IVA)
  • Single Vehicle Approval (SVA)
  • Motorcycle Single Vehicle Approval (MSVA)
  • Certificate of Initial Fitness (COIF)

Help us improve GOV.UK

Please don't include any personal or financial information, for example your National Insurance or credit card numbers.