Our governance

Sellafield Ltd is a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority.

Sellafield Ltd is responsible for the safe and secure operation and clean-up of the Sellafield Nuclear Licensed Site on behalf of the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority (NDA).

Sellafield Ltd Board

The Sellafield Ltd Board sets the strategic framework and direction for the Sellafield Ltd’s operations, in alignment with the NDA’s strategy for Sellafield.

The board is responsible for:

  • ensuring high standards of governance at all times
  • agreeing the plans against which Sellafield Ltd’s performance is measured and holding the Sellafield Ltd executive team to account for delivery
  • maintaining an appropriate control framework that provides assurances on risk assessment and the application of appropriate controls, including Sellafield Ltd’s risk appetite
  • setting company policy on a range of compliance matters, as part of providing direction to the company

The board delegate the day-to-day management to the Sellafield Ltd Executive team, which includes the chief executive officer and other executives.

The chair is appointed by the NDA.

The board consists of 5 non-executive directors including the chair, the chief executive officer, 1 executive director and 2 NDA-nominated non-executive directors.

Board members

Sellafield Ltd Board meetings

The Sellafield Ltd Board meets 6 times a year.

Sellafield Ltd Executive

The Sellafield Ltd Board delegate day-to-day management of the executive team, which includes the chief executive officer and other directors.

The Sellafield Ltd Executive team is accountable for implementing the strategy and plans approved by the board.

Executive team members