News story

Expansion of the UK Registered Traveller service

The Home Office has today announced the expansion of its Registered Traveller service to Hong Kong, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan.

Registered Traveller expansion
Registered Traveller expansion

The scheme, which currently has 40,000 members, is now open to Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan and the US. Members who frequently travel to the UK can benefit from an improved traveller experience.

Immigration Minister James Brokenshire, said:

I am delighted to announce the expansion of the very successful Registered Traveller service to Hong Kong, Singapore, South Korea and Taiwan.

The UK welcomes thousands of passengers from these places every year and we believe the Registered Traveller service will only improve the experience at our borders for business travellers, for students and for regular visitors to the UK .

Potential members must apply online via and once UK Border Force officers have undertaken security checks, individuals are then provisionally accepted onto the scheme. Membership is completed the next time they visit the UK.

Once they become a Registered Traveller member, individuals are then eligible to use passport eGates and the UK/EU controls at Heathrow and other participating airports.

For more information click here.

Published 25 January 2016