Ministerial role

Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport


The Secretary of State has overall responsibility for strategy and policy across the Department for Culture, Media and Sport.

The department’s main policy areas are:

  • arts and culture
  • broadcasting
  • creative industries
  • cultural property, heritage and the historic environment
  • gambling and racing
  • libraries
  • media ownership and mergers
  • museums and galleries
  • the National Lottery
  • sport
  • telecommunications and online
  • tourism

Current role holder: The Rt Hon Karen Bradley MP

Karen Bradley was appointed Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport on 14 July 2016. She was elected Conservative MP for Staffordshire Moorlands in May 2010.


Karen was educated at Buxton Girls’ School and Imperial College London, and graduated with a BSc in Mathematics.

Political career

Karen contested Manchester Withington at the 2005 general election, coming third. She was selected for Staffordshire Moorlands in July 2006 and was returned to Parliament at the General Election in 2010. Karen served as a member of the Select Committee on Work and Pensions, the Procedure Committee and the Administration Committee before she was appointed as a government minister.

Karen served in the Government Whips’ Office from September 2012 until February 2014. She then served as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State in the Home Office from February 2014 until July 2016.

Career outside politics

Karen is a Chartered Accountant and Chartered Tax Adviser and worked in public practice from 1991 to 2004, first for Deloitte & Touche and then for KPMG. In 2004, she became a self-employed fiscal and economic consultant. Karen rejoined KPMG in 2007, where she remained until shortly before her election to the House of Commons.

Personal life

Karen is married with 2 sons.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon John Whittingdale

    • 2015 to 2016
  2. The Rt Hon Sajid Javid MP

    • 2014 to 2015
  3. The Rt Hon Maria Miller

    • 2012 to 2014
  4. The Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP

    • 2010 to 2012


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Independent review of S4C launched

    • Press release
  2. £15 million Northern Cultural Regeneration Fund to boost region’s tech, creative and cultural industries

    • Press release
  3. Universal broadband to reach every part of the UK

    • Press release
  4. Battle Babies - From Verdun to Passchendaele

    • Press release
  5. Pre-recess update on proposed Sky/Fox takeover

    • Statement to Parliament
  6. BBC Board Member for Wales appointed

    • Press release
  7. The Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport Appoints David Blyth to the Board of the Theatres Trust

    • News story
  8. Culture Secretary appoints new Historic Royal Palaces (HRP) Trustee

    • News story
  9. Change of name for DCMS

    • News story
  10. Powerful new forum to boost jobs and growth in UK digital economy

    • Press release