Ministerial role

Minister for the Cabinet Office


The Minister for the Cabinet Office is in overall charge of and responsible for the policy and work of the department, and attends Cabinet.

Current role holder: The Rt Hon Damian Green MP

Damian Green was appointed First Secretary of State and Minister for the Cabinet Office on 11 June 2017. He was elected Conservative MP for Ashford in 1997.


Damian was educated at Reading School and Balliol College, Oxford. He was President of the Oxford Union in 1977.


From 1978 to 1992 he worked for the BBC and The Times, as well as Channel 4, where he was a producer and presenter specialising in business programmes. In 1992 he joined John Major’s policy unit, where he worked for 2 years.

Political career

Damian held a number of positions in the Shadow Cabinet, including Shadow Secretary of State for Education and Skills from 2001 to 2003, Shadow Secretary of State for Transport between 2003 and 2004 and Shadow Minister for Immigration from 2005 to 2010. He served as Minister for Policing, Criminal Justice and Victims (jointly with the Home Office) from September 2012 to July 2014.

He was Minister of State for Immigration from May 2010 to September 2012 and Secretary of State for Work and Pensions from July 2016 to June 2017.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Ben Gummer

    • 2016 to 2017
  2. The Rt Hon Matt Hancock MP

    • 2015 to 2016
  3. The Rt Hon Lord Maude of Horsham

    • 2010 to 2015


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Lead non-executive director appointment for Cabinet Office

    • Press release
  2. Industry-led review details plans to supercharge UK Artificial Intelligence (AI) industry

    • Press release
  3. Memorandum of Understanding between Canada and United Kingdom

    • News story
  4. Broadband Boost for Wales

    • Press release
  5. Government to strengthen UK data protection law

    • Press release
  6. Conduct guidance for 8 June 2017 general election: written ministerial statement

    • Statement to Parliament
  7. Conduct guidance for elections, 4 May 2017: written ministerial statement

    • Statement to Parliament
  8. University of Edinburgh to become centre of excellence for cyber security research

    • News story
  9. Pioneering property programme drives efficiency savings across the public sector

    • Press release
  10. Government at your service: Ben Gummer speech

    • Speech