HS2 Growth Taskforce

The HS2 Growth Taskforce examined how to maximise economic growth and the job opportunities from HS2.

Role of the group

The HS2 Growth Taskforce was established to examine how to maximise economic growth and job opportunities from the government’s plans to build a high speed rail network. The taskforce published their final report in March 2014. Government published a response to the taskforce’s recommendations in July 2014.


Reports produced by the HS2 Growth Taskforce are:

Terms of reference

Terms of reference (PDF, 32.4KB, 4 pages)


The membership of the HS2 Growth Taskforce was:

  • Lord Deighton (Chair), Commercial Secretary to the Treasury
  • Sir Howard Bernstein, CEO Manchester City Council (deputy)
  • Sir Albert Bore, Leader Birmingham City Council
  • Sir John Rose, Deputy Chairman Rothschild Group
  • Frances O’Grady, General Secretary of TUC
  • Neale Coleman, Mayor of London’s Adviser on Olympic Legacy
  • Prof Tony Venables, Oxford University
  • Alison Nimmo, CEO Crown Estate
  • Pete Waterman, Cheshire and Warrington LEP
  • Cllr Julie Dore, Leader Sheffield City Council
  • Cllr Matthew Colledge, Leader of Trafford Council
  • Lorraine Baldry, Chair of London and Continental Railways
  • Ray O’Rourke, Chairman Laing O’Rourke
  • Steven Norris, businessman and former Transport Minister
  • Roger Marsh, Chair of the Leeds City Region LEP