Driving licence categories

The types of vehicles you can drive with certain licences.


  • Driving licence categories

    Driving licence categories - entitlements on your licence and what vehicles you can drive - cars, motorcycles, mopeds, medium and large lorries, minibuses and buses

  • Penalty points (endorsements)

    You could get penalty points (endorsements) on your driving record if you're convicted of a motoring offence

  • Driving licence codes

    Codes that DVLA places on your driving licence, and their explanations

  • Vehicles you can drive

    Check if you're old enough, or have the right kind of driving licence, to drive different kinds of vehicle

  • Adding higher categories to your driving licence

    You may be able to get provisional entitlement to higher category vehicles, and automatic entitlement to lower categories if you pass a higher category driving test

See all services

Guidance and regulation

See all guidance and regulation

Research and statistics

See all research and statistics

Policy papers and consultations

See all policy papers and consultations