Beta This is a test version of the layout of this page. Take the survey to help us improve it


Specifications in relation to the reasonable adjustment of general qualifications

Rules for how you can adapt qualifications for students with disabilities.


Specifications in relation to the reasonable adjustment of general qualifications

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology. Request an accessible format.

If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.


This document sets out rules on the changes you can and can’t make to certain qualifications to cater for students with disabilities. It currently applies to:

  • GCSEs and entry-level certificates in GCSE subjects
  • A levels, AS qualifications, advanced extension awards (AEA) and Cambridge Pre-U qualifications
  • functional skills, key skills and free standing mathematics qualifications
  • principal learning and project qualifications
  • general national vocational qualifications (GNVQs)
  • certificates in adult literacy and adult numeracy
  • Cambridge international certificates, international baccalaureate diplomas and Welsh baccalaureate qualification core certificates

We set these rules using our powers under section 96 of the Equality Act 2010.

December 2016 update

The version of our specifications published here will come into effect on 1 January 2017. You can find the previous version at the National Archives website.

We have also recommended that the Department for Education makes changes to the legislation which sets out the qualifications covered by these rules.