Legacy AS and A levels: requirements and guidance

Rules, regulations and guidance for legacy AS and A levels.

This collection sets out rules, regulations and guidance for all legacy (pre-reform) AS and A levels.

You should also read the requirements for all awarding organisations and qualifications.

There are separate requirements for the reformed AS and A levels that are being introduced from September 2015.

All legacy AS and A levels


Applied art and design

Applied business

  1. GCE subject criteria for applied business

Applied engineering

Applied Information and Communication Technology (ICT)

Applied health and social care

Applied leisure studies

Applied media: communication and production

Applied science

  1. GCE subject criteria for applied science

Applied travel and tourism

Citizenship studies


Design and technology

Drama and theatre studies

General studies


Government and politics

Home economics

Information and Communication Technology (ICT)


  1. GCE AS and A level subject criteria for law


Media studies

Modern Foreign Languages (MFL)

Music and music technology

Performing arts

  1. GCE subject criteria for performing arts

Physical education

Religious studies


Legacy AS and A levels are no longer available in biology, chemistry and physics

Published 19 November 2014
Last updated 19 September 2017 + show all updates
  1. Updated following withdrawal of rules for legacy AS and A levels that are no longer available.
  2. Added criteria for legacy AS and A levels in English language, which were previously omitted in error.
  3. Updated following introduction of our new rules for enquiries and appeals, which replace the GCSE, GCE, principal learning and project code of practice
  4. Added new qualification-level guidance
  5. Added rules covering re-sit arrangements following the last scheduled sitting of legacy AS and A levels
  6. First published.