Contract management

Guidance for civil servants on the capabilities required for managing contracts.



The standards will help you reflect on your (or your team’s) capabilities and development needs, and can be used as a tool for career progression and to inform development conversations. They can be used to identify development needs or technical areas of interest, which you can address by building your capabilities through targeted learning and development interventions.

The standards have been designed to be read alongside the Civil Service Competency Framework, Civil Service Leadership Statement and the Civil Service Code. They are not a detailed handbook of all contract management activities. The Cross Government Contract Management Best Practice Guide and its supporting templates should be referred to for this purpose.

Published 22 February 2018
Last updated 22 February 2018 + show all updates
  1. Update to summary
  2. First published.