Civil Service competency framework

An outline of the skills and behaviours expected of civil servants. Job vacancies will list whether the post uses this framework, or the Success Profiles.


Civil Service competency framework


Competencies are the skills, knowledge and behaviours that lead to successful performance. This document sets out 10 competencies, which are grouped into 3 areas:

  • setting direction
  • engaging people
  • producing results

The ​Civil Service competency framework​ is changing ​

The Civil Service is broadening its approach to recruitment by introducing Success Profiles over the coming months.

Please check the details in the job description of vacancies that you are applying for to see if the post is using the Civil Service Competency Framework or Success Profiles.

Success Profiles will provide a range of new ways candidates can demonstrate their suitability for a role. The Success Profiles products are now available on The existing Civil Service Competency Framework has been modernised and simplified to become the Civil Service Behaviours, which is one of the five elements available in Success Profiles.

The Civil Service will complete its move to Success Profiles by early 2019.

Published 31 July 2012
Last updated 18 June 2018 + show all updates
  1. Updated to reference the Success Profiles.
  2. The Civil Service competency framework​ is changing the recruitment process in the Civil Service.
  3. Updated document with embedding the new Leadership Statement in the competencies framework
  4. First published.