AEA qualification-level conditions and requirements

Rules and regulations for advanced extension awards

Applies to England


AEA Qualification Level Conditions and Requirements

This file may not be suitable for users of assistive technology.

Request an accessible format.
If you use assistive technology (such as a screen reader) and need a version of this document in a more accessible format, please email Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.


This document sets out rules and regulations for advanced extension awards. They only apply to qualifications awarded after 1 September 2018 - our rules for qualifications awarded before this date are set out in a separate document.

Read the associated guidance to understand how to comply with these rules.

You should also read our requirements for all qualifications.

Published 15 June 2018