Our governance

The main decision-making, executive and managerial bodies at the Coal Authority.

Coal Authority Board

The board sets the Coal Authority’s strategy and monitors performance. Its members are appointed by the Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero.

It’s responsible for:

  • making strategic decisions
  • managing relationships with stakeholders
  • evaluating the current strategy and improving it

Coal Authority board objectives 2024 to 2025 (ODT, 63.4 KB)

Board members

Members of the board are appointed by the Secretary of State for Energy Security and Net Zero.

They are:

Coal Authority Executive Leadership Team

The executive leadership team is responsible for the day-to-day running of the authority. They meet weekly to talk about what the authority wants to do, how they can do it and how quickly.


The team is made up of the authority’s executive directors.

Its members are:

  • Lisa Pinney, Chief Executive and Accounting Officer
  • Paul Frammingham, Chief Finance and Information Officer
  • Carl Banton, Operations Director
  • Richard Bond, Innovation and Engagement Director
  • James Lowth, People and Resources Director
  • Julia Draycon, Environment and Resilience Director
  • Michael Goddard, Programme Director

Coal Authority Audit and Risk Assurance Committee

The audit and risk assurance committee works to make sure the authority’s risks are properly managed.

They meet at least 4 times a year and are responsible for reviewing the Coal Authority’s:

  • risk management
  • main policies
  • annual report and accounts
  • external audit results

Audit and Risk Assurance Committee terms of reference (MS Word Document, 111 KB)


The members of the committee are:

  • Jayne Scott, Chair
  • Bev Smith
  • Kate Denham