News story

Home Secretary presents awards to police officers

The Home Secretary presented awards to courageous police officers at a London ceremony last night.

This was published under the 2010 to 2015 Conservative and Liberal Democrat coalition government

Five officers from the Metropolitan police were voted the bravest in England and Wales at an annual awards ceremony last night.

Attended by the Home Secretary, the Police Bravery Awards, organised by the Police Federation of England and Wales and The Sun newspaper, honoured fifty-eight of the most courageous policemen and women.

Read the full list of winners on the Police Federation website.

Theresa May praised their work: ‘Britain’s police forces are a source of pride to us all, we ask them all to put their own personal safety at risk every day to protect us.
‘The Police Bravery Awards honour those officers who have gone far beyond the call of duty - they are the bravest of the brave.
‘Their courageous action and their dedication to the cause they serve is an inspiration and an example to everyone and I would like to join the Police Federation in paying tribute to them.’

Exemplary teamwork

Theresa May presented PC James Berry, PC Jonathan Lowe, PC Stuart Higgs, PC Adrian Pine and PC Dion Bird with the overall award for their bravery tackling armed and violent youths.

Whilst out on patrol the officers responded to reports of youths stealing a moped in West London.

As the officers approached the males they ran off. Splitting up to tackle the two youths they showed exemplary teamwork. The officers chased the youths, tried to block their escape and kept members of the public safe whilst a brutal gun man fired at them all.

Eventually through persistence they eventually caught and detained both men. All faced a very real threat to their lives.


Top stories RSS feed

Police Bravery Awards 2010 on Flickr



Published 9 July 2010