News story

Department of Health ministerial responsibilities

Following the change in government, 3 new ministers have joined the Department of Health, which has meant a change in responsibilities.


As Health Secretary, Jeremy Hunt is in charge of all areas of health policy with a particular focus on overall financial control and oversight of all NHS delivery and performance. The Secretary of State will also lead on all aspects of mental health, championing patient safety and driving forward the Prime Minister’s agenda.

Philip Dunne joins the Department as Minister of State for Health. His brief includes overseeing all aspects of hospital care, NHS performance and operations, the workforce, patient safety and maternity care.

Nicola Blackwood is the Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Public Health and Innovation. She will lead on all aspects of public health and health protection as well as technology, life sciences innovation, and data.

The Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Community Health and Care is David Mowat. His brief includes adult social care, carers, community services, cancer, dementia, learning disabilities and all elements of primary care – including dentistry and pharmacy.

Lord Prior remains at the Department as the Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Health, covering all aspects of health in the House of Lords. His brief also includes leading on drugs spending, life sciences industry, NHS and EU issues, NHS commercial issues, and blood and transplants.

Published 21 July 2016