Ministerial role

Secretary of State for Work and Pensions


The Secretary of State has overall responsibility for the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP). He has direct responsibility for departmental expenditure and departmental management.

DWP is responsible for the administration of the State Pension and working age benefits system, providing support to:

  • people of working age
  • employers
  • pensioners
  • families and children
  • disabled people

Current role holder: The Rt Hon Damian Green

Damian Green was appointed Secretary of State for Work and Pensions on 14 July 2016. He was elected Conservative MP for Ashford in 1997.


Damian was educated at Reading School and Balliol College, Oxford. He was President of the Oxford Union in 1977.


From 1978 to 1992 he worked for the BBC and The Times, as well as Channel 4, where he was a producer and presenter specialising in business programmes. In 1992 he joined John Major’s policy unit, where he worked for 2 years.

Political career

Damian held a number of positions in the Shadow Cabinet, including Shadow Secretary of State for Education and Skills from 2001 to 2003, Shadow Secretary of State for Transport between 2003 and 2004 and Shadow Minister for Immigration from 2005 to 2010. He served as Minister for Policing, Criminal Justice and Victims (jointly with the Home Office) from September 2012 to July 2014.

He was Minister of State for Immigration from May 2010 to September 2012.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Stephen Crabb

    • 2016 to 2016
  2. The Rt Hon Iain Duncan Smith

    • 2010 to 2016


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Sara Weller CBE appointed as the department’s lead non-executive

    • News story
  2. 3 million households set to benefit from Universal Credit changes

    • Press release
  3. New support to help workless families and improve children’s lives

    • Press release
  4. 100,000 new businesses launched thanks to employment scheme

    • Press release
  5. John Cridland CBE and the Government Actuary’s Department release reports into the future State Pension age

    • Press release
  6. Household incomes remain highest on record

    • Press release
  7. Children living in workless households at lowest level since records began

    • Press release
  8. New initiative to boost disadvantaged groups in work

    • Press release
  9. Employment hits highest rate since records began

    • Press release
  10. Benefit cap restores fairness to the system

    • Press release