Ministerial role

Secretary of State for Transport


The Secretary of State has overall responsibility for the policies of the Department for Transport.

Current role holder: The Rt Hon Chris Grayling MP

Chris Grayling was appointed as Secretary of State for Transport on 14 July 2016. He was elected Conservative MP for Epsom and Ewell in 2001.


Chris was educated at The Royal Grammar School, High Wycombe and Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge, where he studied history.

Political career

Chris served as Minister of State at the Department for Work and Pensions from May 2010 until September 2012. He was Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice from September 2012 until May 2015, and Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of Commons from May 2015 until 14 July 2016.

He also held a number of shadow front bench posts, including Shadow Home Secretary and Shadow Secretary of State for Transport.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Sir Patrick McLoughlin MP

    • 2012 to 2016
  2. The Rt Hon Justine Greening MP

    • 2011 to 2012
  3. The Rt Hon Philip Hammond MP

    • 2010 to 2011


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. Ambitious transport programme is fundamental to the Northern Powerhouse

    • Speech
  2. Thousands of jobs linked to new Manchester Airport road

    • News story
  3. EU Transport Council 29 and 30 October 2018

    • Statement to Parliament
  4. Government’s ‘cast-iron’ commitment to Cumbria’s roads

    • News story
  5. Transport Secretary gives seal of approval to multi-million pound Liverpool Lime Street upgrade

    • News story
  6. Rail Review

    • Statement to Parliament
  7. HS2 Phase 2b working draft environmental statement

    • Statement to Parliament
  8. Transport Secretary welcomes progress on East West Rail

    • News story
  9. Severn Crossings to go toll-free on 17 December 2018

    • Press release
  10. PM announces ten cities shortlisted for major transport funding across England

    • Press release