Ministerial role

Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs


The Secretary of State has overall responsibility for the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

Specific responsibilities include:

  • oversight of EU exit work and the overall policy programme
  • international relations
  • emergencies
  • departmental administration

Current role holder: The Rt Hon Andrea Leadsom

Andrea Leadsom was appointed Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs on 14 July 2016. She was elected as Conservative MP for South Northamptonshire in 2010.


After attending Tonbridge Girls Grammar School in Kent, Andrea went on to read political science at Warwick University.

Political career

Andrea served on the Treasury Select Committee from July 2010 until May 2014 and on the Public Accounts Committee from May 2014 until March 2015. She then served as Economic Secretary to the Treasury from April 2014 until May 2015 and Minister of State at the Department of Energy and Climate Change from May 2015 until July 2016.

Career outside politics

Andrea worked in the banking and finance industry for 25 years, most recently as Head of Corporate Governance and Senior Investment Officer at Invesco Perpetual, one of the UK’s largest retail fund managers.

Personal life

Andrea is married to Ben and has three children.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Elizabeth Truss

    • 2014 to 2016
  2. The Rt Hon Owen Paterson

    • 2012 to 2014
  3. The Rt Hon Caroline Spelman

    • 2010 to 2012


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. New air quality plan published for consultation

    • Press release
  2. Government publishes new anti-littering strategy

    • Press release
  3. New water choice for English businesses

    • News story
  4. New £1 million flood competition to protect more communities

    • Press release
  5. Appointment to the board of the Environment Agency

    • News story
  6. Environment Secretary announces bridging payments for Basic Payment Scheme 2016

    • News story
  7. Environment Secretary speaks at NFU conference

    • Speech
  8. Record exports support Global Britain drive

    • Press release
  9. New plans to crack down on backstreet puppy breeders

    • Press release
  10. New interim Chief Executive announced for the Rural Payments Agency

    • Press release