Ministerial role

Government Whip, Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury


Whips are MPs or Lords appointed by each party to help organise their party’s contribution to parliamentary business. They are responsible for making sure the maximum number of their party members vote, and vote the way their party wants.

Current role holder: Andrew Stephenson MP

Andrew Stephenson MP was appointed as a Government Whip, Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury, on 9 January 2018. Andrew was an Assistant Government Whip from June 2017 to January 2018.

He was first elected as Conservative MP for Pendle in May 2010.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon David Evennett MP

    • 2012 to 2018


Get updates to this list email feed

Copy and paste this URL in to your feed reader

  1. UK to observe silence to mark 100 years since the Battle of the Somme

    • News story
  2. David Evennett MP appointed acting Sport, Tourism and Heritage Minister

    • News story
  3. Privy Council appointments: March 2015

    • Press release