UK-EEA EFTA Separation Agreement: Joint Committee

This page contains information on the Separation Agreement Joint Committee.

The Separation Agreement Joint Committee oversees the implementation and application of the EEA EFTA Separation Agreement in the UK, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein. The Separation Agreement has the power to make decisions and recommendations on all matters related to the Separation Agreement.

The EEA EFTA Separation Agreement between the UK and EEA EFTA countries (Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein) protects the rights of citizens living in each other’s countries. It also resolves other issues arising from Brexit. The Separation Agreement complements the Withdrawal Agreement agreed between the UK and the EU.



Annual reports

About the Separation Agreement

Published 9 April 2021
Last updated 4 October 2023 + show all updates
  1. Added UK-EEA EFTA Separation Agreement Joint Committee annual report 2022 and Decision No 1/2023 of the Joint Committee.

  2. Link added to joint statement from the fourth meeting of the Separation Agreement Joint Committee between the UK and EEA EFTA.

  3. Joint statement added from Separation Agreement Joint Committee between the UK and EEA EFTA states: fourth meeting 27 September 2027

  4. Added decision 1/2021 and the 2021 annual report

  5. Statement following the third meeting added.

  6. First published.