Dreadnought submarine programme: the facts

Dreadnought is the replacement programme for the Royal Navy’s Trident missile Vanguard Class submarines which form the UK’s nuclear deterrent.

The continuous at sea deterrent (CASD) has provided the United Kingdom’s ultimate security insurance policy every day for the last 46 years.

Since 1992 the 4 boats of the Vanguard Class have maintained CASD, ensuring at all times 1 submarine was deployed. As the Vanguard submarines progress to the end of their lifespan, the UK is building the next generation of submarines to carry forward the vital role.

See the Dreadnought factsheet below to learn more.

Dreadnought submarine programme


Read the full National Security Strategy and Strategic Defence and Security Review 2015 here.

  1. New Successor Submarines Named
  2. Building to start on new nuclear submarines as government announces £1.3 billion investment
  3. The case for the retention of the UK's independent nuclear deterrent
  4. Defence Secretary announces £642 million investment in next generation nuclear submarines
  5. £200 million funding boost for UK industry carrying out Successor submarine design
  6. Defence Secretary reaffirms nuclear deterrent commitment
  7. Strategic Defence and Security Review: £178bn of equipment spending
  8. Defence Secretary Michael Fallon: Keeping Our Future Afloat Campaign
  9. £500 million for Faslane announced by Chancellor
  10. UK submarine industry to benefit from £285m investment in successor programme
  11. Keeping our future afloat campaign: UK submarine industry
  12. New investment in Successor submarines
  13. Reduction in UK nuclear warheads begins


  1. Dreadnought submarine programme

Background information

UK nuclear deterrent policy.

Published 28 October 2016