Clostridium difficile ribotyping network (CDRN) service

Clostridium difficile ribotyping network (CDRN) laboratories provide Clostridium difficile culture and ribotyping.

There are standard criteria for submission of faecal samples. Further DNA fingerprinting using multilocus variable repeat analysis (MLVA) is available on request, if your sample meets the criteria for enhanced fingerprinting.

CDRN consists of 9 participating laboratories:

  • Leeds (Reference Laboratory, Leeds General Infirmary)
  • Bristol (Bristol Royal Infirmary)
  • Birmingham (Heartlands Hospital)
  • Cambridge (Addenbrooke’s Hospital)
  • London (Barts Health)
  • Manchester (Manchester Royal Infirmary)
  • Southampton (Southampton General Hospital)
  • Belfast (Royal Victoria Hospital) in N. Ireland.


Published 8 August 2014
Last updated 12 April 2017 + show all updates
  1. Amended list of participating laboratories.

  2. First published.