The Council of Europe (CoE) is a pan-European organisation of 46 member states, including all 27 member states of the European Union. The United Kingdom was one of the founding members. Set up shortly after the end of the Second World War, the CoE’s core mission is to promote human rights, democracy and the rule of law across the continent.

The Permanent Representation of the United Kingdom to the CoE is an active member of the organisation. We represent the UK at intergovernmental meetings and work with the organisation’s various institutions – such as the European Court of Human Rights, the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, the Commissioner for Human Rights and the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities – and the delegations of other member states to make the CoE as effective and efficient as possible.

Find out more about the Council of Europe´s work

Our services

Travel advice

FCDO Travel Advice is available on Twitter and Facebook

British nationals can also get email alerts on changes to travel advice by subscribing to the FCDO’s email travel advice updates.

Consular enquiries

All consular enquiries should be directed to the British Embassy in Paris


For information on whether you require a visa for the United Kingdom and how to apply, go to the UK Border Agency website

The UK Delegation to the Council of Europe cannot deal with individual enquiries about visa applications. For all visa enquiries, contact the UK Border Agency


For all information about UK passports and details of how to contact the government’s passport issuing service, see the Passport section of this website

General enquiries

For all other enquiries, see our contact details below.

Our people

UK Permanent Representative to the Council of Europe
Sandy Moss
  • Deputy UK Permanent Representative to the Council of Europe

Contact us

UK Delegation to the Council of Europe

18 rue Gottfried
67000 Strasbourg


+33 (0) 3 88 24 71 65

Access and opening times

Corporate information