Office access and opening times

Information about UK passport application opening times, disabled access and public holidays in 2017.

UK Passport Applications

Her Majesty’s Passport Office commenced application submission for British Passports on Friday 19 June 2015. Applications should be submitted at the UK Visa Application Centre (VAC)

The VAC is located at #305, Prime Hill Business Square, 60 Shwedagon Pagoda Road, Dagon Township, Yangon.

Please contact the VAC via email ( confirming 3 dates/times you are available to attend an appointment. All guidance relating to documents needed for submission are available on GOV.UK

Customers should not book travel until they have a valid passport. If a British national needs to travel more urgently, they may be able to apply for an Emergency Travel Document (ETD).

Anyone applying for an ETD or needing consular assistance should phone the British Embassy on +95 (0)1 370 863, +95 (0)1 370 864 or +95 (0)1 370 865 and follow the instructions to speak a consular officer who will assist you.

Disabled access

The Foreign & Commonwealth Office and this embassy are keen to ensure that their buildings and services are fully accessible to disabled members for the public. Wherever possible, we have made our buildings and services accessible. Sometimes however, this is not possible due to security or other restrictions. In these situations we will endeavour to provide a service or access to a building in an alternative way to ensure equality of access for disabled people. To assist disabled visitors, we have set out below details of access for the disabled at this embassy. We hope this information is helpful.

General physical access

Access to the embassy building is constrained by security considerations and the current layout of access routes and facilities. However, reception and security staff are alert to the requirements of disabled visitors and will endeavor to ensure that disable visitors are provided with appropriate assistance during their visit to ensure that they have access to embassy services.

If you anticipate requiring assistance, please telephone in advance of your visit so that we can ensure that we are able to provide access for you:

Telephone: +95 (1)370863 and ask for the Security Manager or


Public holidays

The Embassy will be CLOSED on the following days in 2018.

  • New Year’s Day 1 January Monday
  • Independence Day 4 January Thursday
  • Good Friday 30 March Friday
  • Easter Monday 02 April Monday
  • Thingyan Water Festival 13 April Friday
  • Thingyan Water Festival 16 April Monday
  • Thingyan Water Festival 17 April Tuesday
  • May Day 1 May Tuesday
  • Hari Raya Haji 22 August Wednesday
  • Summer Bank Holiday 27 August Monday
  • Fullmoon day of Thindayut 24 October Wednesday
  • Diwali Day 07 November Wednesday
  • Fullmoon day of Tazaunboner 22 November Thursday
  • Christmas Day 25 December Tuesday
  • Boxing Day 26 December Wednesday