Controlling Access: Delete an Item
There are a number of reasons why an item or a file may no longer be required within a Room. For instance, information may become out of date, be inaccurate or inappropriate (to both HMRC policy and Room use), or be duplicated in another Room.
If there is no business reason to retain the item then it should be deleted.
Any member can request to delete an item. All requests are automatically sent to the HMRC Business Authorising Officer (BAO) of the Room for approval or rejection. Any deletion request that is rejected will be returned to the member that submitted the request with a full explanation of the reason for the rejection.
When a request is made to delete an item then it is immediately removed from the view of all Room members except from the BAO.
If an item has no current use but may be needed in the future the item can be closed so that only BAOs have access to it SW07430.
- HMRC owned items must only be deleted in accordance with HMRC retention policies.
- Deleting an item or file also deletes any previous versions.